Lamar Jackson Wins 2020 NFL MVP at NFL Honors; With Other Awards Given Out

NFL logo.

NFL logo.

Miami, FL. – The night before Super Bowl LIV, February 1, 2020, the NFL Honors took place in Miami, Florida, at Adrienne Arsht Center at 8:00 pm Eastern Time.  [1] The awards will be Most Valuable Player, defensive player of the year, and other awards. This is the ninth straight NFL Honors. Steve Harvey returned once again to announce the NFL Honors. And actor Paul Rudd announced the NFL MVP for the second time in a row.

Player Awards

The AP Defensive Player of the Year is Stephon Gilmore, cornerback for the New England Patriots. The AP Comeback Player of the Year is Ryan Tannehill quarterback for the Tennessee Titans. AP Defensive Rookie of the Year is Nick Bosa, defensive end for the San Francisco 49ers. AP Offensive Rookie of the Year is Kyler Murray quarterback for the Arizona Cardinals. The AP Offensive Player of the Year is Michael Thomas, a wide receiver for the New Orleans Saints. And the AP Most Valuable Player is Lamar Jackson, quarterback for the Baltimore Ravens. [2]

Coach and Other Awards

The AP Assistant Coach of the Year is Greg Roman from the Baltimore Ravens, and the AP Coach of the Year is John Harbaugh from the Baltimore Ravens. The Daily Fantasy Player of the Year is Christian McCaffrey, a running back for the Carolina Panthers, the Salute to Service Award went to Donnie Edwards a former linebacker for the Los Angeles Chargers, the Bud Light “Celly” of the Year is “Bye, Bye, Bye” (Seattle Seahawks wide receivers), the FedEx Air and Ground Players of the Year is Lamar Jackson, quarterback for the Baltimore Ravens, and Derrick Henry, a running back for the Tennessee Titans.

The Anything But Ordinary Player of the Year is Larry Fitzgerald, wide receiver for the Arizona Cardinals, the Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award went to Adrian Peterson, running back for the Washington Redskins, the Deacon Jones Award went to Shaq Barrett, linebacker for the Tampa Bay Buccaneers. The Bridgestone Clutch Performance Play was the Miami Dolphins fake field goal in week 13. The Courtyard Unstoppable Performance of the Year went to Patrick Mahomes, quarterback for the Kansas City Chiefs. And lastly but not least, the NFL Walter Payton Man of the Year went to Calais Campbell, defensive end for the Jacksonville Jaguars.

There were also five former players inducted into the Hall of Fame Class of 2020. The former players were Steve Atwater from the Denver Broncos, Isaac Bruce from the Los Angeles Chargers, Steve Hutchinson from the Seattle Seahawks, Edgerrin James from the Indianapolis Colts, and Troy Polamalu from the Pittsburgh Steelers.

Leave a Reply