Governor Parson Declares State of Emergency in Response to Severe Weather

Rain on glass.

Rain on glass.

On May 21 Missouri Governor Mike Parson declared a state of emergency for the state of Missouri. After the continuous rainfall Missouri has been receiving, many areas have become dangerous with the high flood waters throughout the state. On May 20 Parson announced that President Trump had approved his request for a disaster declaration to help local governments and nonprofit organizations in 13 counties.

More Rain

“Missouri is experiencing a very dangerous severe storm system with multiple threats that must be taken seriously,” [1] Governor Parson said on Monday after various flash flood warnings were issued by the National Weather Service. Urban areas, near rivers creeks, and streams are the most likely places to experience flooding.

“The very heavy rainfall yesterday and today, combined with saturated soil and very high water levels on many rivers and streams have created dangerous conditions around the state,” Parson told Missourians. “I urge all Missourians to closely follow their local weather forecasts, take storm warnings seriously, and quickly act to protect themselves and their families when necessary.”

Severe storms have been sweeping across Missouri as well, bringing tornado forecasts, hail, strong winds, and heavy rain throughout the state. The Missouri and the Mississippi River are expected to continue to rise as we experience more rain this weekend.

Governor Parson also activated the Missouri State Emergency Operations Plan, something that will allow state and local governments to work directly with each other, allowing them to rescue people from flooding sooner.

Major Disaster

On Monday, President Trump approved Parsons request for a major disaster declaration in Missouri. “This disaster declaration means millions of dollars in vitally important federal reimbursements will be available for communities that are hurting because of damaged and destroyed roads, bridges, and other vitally important infrastructure,” [2] Parson said. “I appreciate President Trump making the federal assistance available and all those who are already working to help our Missouri communities recover.”

Federal aid will be made available for 13 Missouri counties to help repair public infrastructure along with paying for the emergency response personnel. Andrew, Atchison, Buchanan, Carroll, Chariton, Holt, Mississippi, New Madrid, Pemiscot, Perry, Platte, Ray, and Ste. Genevieve Counties will all be receiving assistance from the disaster declaration.


  1. ^Governor Parson Declares State of Emergency in Response to Severe Weather and Ongoing Flooding | Governor Michael L. Parson.” 21 May. 2019, (go back  ↩)
  2. ^“President Trump Approves Governor Parson’s Request for Major Disaster Declaration for Missouri | Governor Michael L. Parson.” 20 May. 2019, (go back  ↩)

Leave a Reply