Missouri Requests Federal Disaster Declaration for the Second Time in 2019

Missouri state capitol building.

Missouri state capitol building.

For the second time in 2019, Missouri has requested a federal disaster declaration to help businesses and families throughout the state that have been affected by the flooding happening in Missouri since April 29.

Fixing Damage

On June 24, Lieutenant Governor Mike Kehoe, who was acting on behalf of Governor Mike Parson, requested that President Trump issue another disaster declaration for Missouri. In the past, Parson has toured the storm damaged homes across the state.

“Historic long-term flooding continues to devastate families, businesses, and communities across Missouri,” Governor Parson said. “As I’ve traveled across the state, I’ve seen families battling to clean up flood-damaged homes, and others struggling because their homes are still under water. In addition, in late May, our state was battered by tornadoes and storms that destroyed or heavily damaged almost one thousand homes. Communities and volunteers are working hard to help their neighbors, but there’s a clear need for federal assistance to help Missouri families recover.” [1]

Damage Assessments

A Preliminary Damage Assessment, which was conducted by State Emergency Management Agency, U.S. Small Business Administration, Federal Emergency Management Agency, and local officials showed that out of 1650 primary homes visited, 953 had been destroyed or damaged. Out of 251 businesses, 125 were damaged or destroyed.

Missouri has requested Individual Assistance for 41 Missouri counties. This type of aid will allow individuals to get federal assistance to repair any damage the recent flooding has done. The following counties will be eligible:

  • Adair
  • Andrew
  • Atchison
  • Barton
  • Boone
  • Buchanan
  • Callaway
  • Carroll
  • Chariton
  • Christian
  • Clark
  • Cole
  • Cooper
  • Dallas
  • Douglas
  • Gasconade
  • Greene
  • Grundy
  • Harrison
  • Hickory
  • Holt
  • Howard
  • Jackson
  • Jasper
  • Jefferson
  • Laclede
  • Lafayette,
  • Lewis
  • Lincoln
  • Livingston
  • Macon
  • Miller
  • Osage
  • Pike
  • Platte
  • Polk
  • Pulaski
  • Saline
  • St. Charles
  • St. Louis
  • Ste. Genevieve

Damage assessments have also begun to be conducted around the state for Public Assistance, something that would allow federal help or reimbursement for emergency response costs, or repair and replacement for public infrastructure. Although Missouri hasn’t yet requested for Public Assistance, officials expect to request in for 64 counties.



  1. ^Missouri Requests Second Federal Disaster Declaration This Year, in Response to Flooding and Tornadoes | Governor Michael L. Parson.” 25 June 2019, governor.mo.gov/press-releases/archive/missouri-requests-second-federal-disaster-declaration-year-response-flooding. (go back  ↩)

Leave a Reply