St. Louis Blues Beat Boston Bruins, Taking Home the Stanley Cup

St. Louis Arch.

St. Louis Arch with buildings.

The last hockey game was held on June 12, 2019; after a tight match between the St. Louis Blues and the Boston Bruins, a 4 to 1 game, the winners of the Stanley Cup Final are the St. Louis Blues, who have never won a Stanley Cup before. There was much celebrating from the Blues players and fans, along with some celebrating from those who just didn’t want to see the Bruins take home another Stanley Cup.

Winner Takes All

The Bruins won three of the games leading up to the final but it was not enough to beat the Blues who took the other four. Game seven of the Stanley Cup Finals got a household rating of 6.2 which is the highest such number in NHL for a game since 1994. The last time the Stanley Cup Finals went to the seventh game was in 2011 between the Boston Bruins and the Vancouver Canucks. The seventh game this year was held in the home of the Bruins in Boston, Massachusetts.

The Players

In the first period both Ryan O’Reilly and Alex Pietrangelo, from the Blues, scored a point each. The second period was pointless, and the third period Brayden Schenn and Zach Sanford, also from the Blues, got points on the scoreboard. In the third period, Matt Grzelcyk from the Bruins, socred the first point for the Bruins, making the score 4 to 1.

O’Reilly was the first player to score in four consecutive games since Wayne Gretzky in 1985. Jay Bouwmeester became the 29th hockey player to enter the Triple Gold Cup, something that only happens when someone wins a NHL’s top award, an Olympic gold medal, and a World Championship.

Leave a Reply